MDA Award Nominations Open

For MDA Annual Awards including New Dental Leader, Dentist of the Year, Distinguished Service.

ADA Gold Medal Award for Excellence in Dental Research
Nominations due July 15, 2022

The American Dental Association is seeking nominations for the Gold Medal Award for Excellence in Dental Research, which honors individuals who have helped advance the profession of dentistry or improve the oral health of the public through basic or clinical research. Established in 1985, the award is presented every three years. It is sponsored by the ADA and Colgate. The winner will receive $25,000, a gold medallion and, if eligible, a three-year term as a member of the ADA Council on Scientific Affairs. Learn more.

MDA Annual Awards
Nominations due July 15, 2022

The MDA is now accepting nominations for the 2022 MDA Outstanding New Dental Leader, Distinguished Service and Dentist of the Year Awards. Only Component Societies and Standing Committees of the Board (LRC and New Dentist) may submit nominations, but we want to encourage any MDA member to send nominations to Margie Kunze and she will then forward those on to the component societies.

From all submissions, it will be up to the component societies to determine their final nominees (Component societies or standing committees may submit only one member per category). Following are entry guidelines, eligibility requirements and applications for each award in a PDF fillable form. Also included is a list of members who have received MDA awards in past years. Applications with supporting materials are due into the MDA office no later than July 15, 2022. 

Of note, the Distinguished Service Award may only be received ONCE and is designed to honor someone at the end of their service to organized dentistry. Please keep this in mind when nominating, as they will not be able to receive the award again. Also, due to the nature of the award criteria and the limited timeframe for which a new dentist is eligible for the Outstanding New Dental Leader Award, the MDA Board of Trustees voted to allow sitting MDA Board of Trustees members to be nominated for this award category only. Sitting MDA Board of Trustees members are ineligible for other award categories.